how to drive in shallow water with my 19 ' Bayliner I/O

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how to drive in shallow water with my 19 ' Bayliner I/O

So just purchased my first boat about a month ago and just recently finished fixing her up for the season. My boat experience was always as a passenger on my friends boats so I'm pretty new to driving one. I took my 2005 Bayliner 3.0 Mercruiser I/o out for the first time this morning just to learn the channels and realized that a ton of areas where my friends and I use to park up changed dramatically do to erosion. As I passed I noticed that a bunch of boats similar to mine in size were still using these areas to sit and enjoy the weather. I decided not to go in because my depth finder was reading 3 feet and I don't want to hit sand. Is there a science behind driving in shallow water with an I/O? So many beautiful places to drive into are around 3 feet by my area and I want to take advantage of this. Any pointers on how to drive in shallow water would be greatly helpful.

The science is called 'trim' and 'tilt'. You can use the trim switch to bring the outdrive up to its 'limit' position so that the boat/outdrive does not draw as much water. Beyond that you can use the 'tilt/trailer' button to bring the outdrive up a bit further for more shallow areas. Of course, when running in the tilt range, you want to be at idle speed.

I'm sure your friends would bring the outdrive up as much as needed when they ventured into shallow areas and to get near shore. You just may not have noticed.

When anchored (or beached) in shallow water, you want to bring the outdrive up well into the tilt range to avoid it hitting bottom during wave action.
    Best regards, Ted . . . . Cape Cod, MA

Current Boats: Formula 330 Sun Sport, O'Day Mariner Sail #3224, Sunfish
    Past Boats: Catalina 22 Sail #10531, Formula 242 Sun Sport